Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Thanks Tree30Thanks

Thread: Has your opinion of Trump changed in the past six months?

  1. #1
    told you so Amelia's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    44,294
    Thanks
    25860

    From
    Wisconsin

    Has your opinion of Trump changed in the past six months?

    Has your opinion of Trump changed in the past six months?

    I thought Trump was mostly just a jerk. A carnival barker and a jerk. Someone who bragged about sexual assault and who shamelessly enabled xenophobes such as Ann Coulter -- neither of which were forgivable but which I thought were just part of his general jerkiness and hustling.

    Though his presidency was never something I wanted to have happen, I thought he at least had a standard businessman's skill set and pragmatism, which he would employ after all the confetti was swept up after his unexpected, improbable win. I couldn't have guessed how seriously unhinged he is. Now I don't understand how he has been able to function in the world these past decades. Has he declined so quickly? Or has he been protected all this time by his inner circle?
    Thanks from namvet69

  2. #2
    Established Member
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5,949
    Thanks
    4589

    From
    In my mind
    Yes.

    While I always thought him a petulant child with a undeveloped intellect, I think my opinion has changed in I never realized how profoundly stupid he as, and I grossly underestimated his undeserved feelings of self importance.
    Thanks from Amelia, Babba and namvet69

  3. #3
    Veteran Member GordonGecko's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    29,973
    Thanks
    22628

    From
    VA
    Yes.....that he's more "failure" than "dangerous".

    He's a bull in a china shop....but it's a china shop owned by Republicans. He's doing more damage to the GOP brand than he is to America.

    Except for getting Gorsuch?...which is just restoring the USSC back to where it was before Scalia died?

    Trump has totally failed on his domestic agenda.


    Despite the concern over Korea, I think Pence, Mattis, and McMaster are running the show and willing to just let Trump be a figurehead.....and play with his Twitter and talk about chocolate cake.
    Thanks from namvet69 and Amelia

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Dr Sampson Simpson's Avatar
    Joined
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    21,588
    Thanks
    11894

    Gotten worse, as hard to believe as that was. Even though he was a complete douche as candidate, I thought he would at least pretend to act presidential, but no, he became even more of a petulant child. And is not even hiding his corruption and his plans for his rich buddies to rob this country blind, and his family making money off of his position
    Thanks from namvet69, Amelia and Babba

  5. #5
    Member
    Joined
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3,218
    Thanks
    3427

    From
    Ohio
    Quote Originally Posted by Amelia View Post
    Has your opinion of Trump changed in the past six months?

    I thought Trump was mostly just a jerk. A carnival barker and a jerk. Someone who bragged about sexual assault and who shamelessly enabled xenophobes such as Ann Coulter -- neither of which were forgivable but which I thought were just part of his general jerkiness and hustling.

    Though his presidency was never something I wanted to have happen, I thought he at least had a standard businessman's skill set and pragmatism, which he would employ after all the confetti was swept up after his unexpected, improbable win. I couldn't have guessed how seriously unhinged he is. Now I don't understand how he has been able to function in the world these past decades. Has he declined so quickly? Or has he been protected all this time by his inner circle?
    From day one, I knew Trump was a personality-disordered, mentally unstable, lying bully
    con man with NO redeeming qualities. Each and every day he confirms my initial impression.
    Trump remains unfit to serve as president.
    Thanks from namvet69 and Thx1138

  6. #6
    Southern Strategy Liberal OldGaffer's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    37,364
    Thanks
    39264

    From
    Nashville, TN
    Even worse than I expected, and I didn't expect much....his supporters on PH are still extolling his "huge successes", with no abatement whatsoever....and no sense of shame, either, they are just so thrilled over "the win", they will forgive anything he does, no matter how douchebaggery.
    Thanks from Amelia, Babba, GordonGecko and 2 others

  7. #7
    Established Member Coyote's Avatar
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks
    6632

    From
    now on
    It's gone from "wtf how can anyone buy into this bozo's garbage?" to "holy shit am I gonna get nuked today?"
    Thanks from Babba, OHjulie, namvet69 and 2 others

  8. #8
    Veteran Member GordonGecko's Avatar
    Joined
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    29,973
    Thanks
    22628

    From
    VA
    It's like SNL's skit this past weekend....

    "Pence" comes to "Trump" and gives him the "list of our successes"-

    "Nominating Neil Gorsuch"

    and then closes the book.


    Same deal with the Trumpsters....about 1/4 of the time they point to Gorsuch (which simply set things back to where they were before Scalia died) or "He bombed Syria" (an airfield already back up and running)......or Trump's "tough talk towards _____" (we all know the value of "tough TALK"?)

    the other 3/4ths of the time it's whining about "Obama"....gloating of "Hillary losing" or imagined "drinking of liberal tears".....or some Drudge Talking Points on "some liberal sued a school to keep them from holding Communion in the playground" or "an illegal shot a man just for snoring".



    But Trump "successes"?....difficult for them to talk about ....things that don't exist.
    Thanks from namvet69, Amelia and Coyote

  9. #9
    Bizarroland Observer Thx1138's Avatar
    Joined
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    21,371
    Thanks
    12532

    From
    aMEEErica
    For myself it is affirmation...

    He is proving to be the same lying, inept, worthless, shameless sack of shit I had him pegged for from the time he put in his bid, being cheered by paid extras.

    Thx
    Thanks from Amelia

  10. #10
    Veteran Member DebateDrone's Avatar
    Joined
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    31,624
    Thanks
    26703

    From
    SWUSA
    I knew 45 was going to have problems getting money legislation through Congress, but losing ACA repeal was major. I did not expect that.

    Now what do we have, Trump was campaigning with Paul Ryan [29%]to tout ...not jobs legislation but a EO on the Government buying American first.

    How weak was that?
    Thanks from Amelia

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Does Trump care about world opinion?
    By Amelia in forum Political Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11th February 2017, 10:27 AM
  2. FBI Sat on Trump/Russia File for Months
    By Babba in forum World Politics
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 15th January 2017, 08:29 AM
  3. WHOA! ROMNEY AD regarding TRUMP!! So what's changed??
    By cpicturetaker12 in forum Current Events
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th October 2016, 05:31 PM
  4. Trump goes up against an avocado in an opinion poll
    By cable2 in forum Current Events
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 6th July 2015, 03:22 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th December 2014, 07:48 PM

Tags for this Thread


Facebook Twitter RSS Feed