9/11 Anniversary -- Remembering the best of humanity on America's darkest day

Apr 2010
Pittsburgh, PA
Everyone remembers where they were on 9/11. As a Canadian filmmaker, I was working on a movie set when my wife called me and told me to turn on the TV. When I saw what was happening in New York City, I remember thinking, “This is it; we’re all done for.”

Watching one of the world’s most beautiful and populated cities be ravaged by evil in a matter of moments, it felt like a protective veil had been lifted. If such darkness could fall on New York, what would stop it from teeming to the ends of the earth?

The sad truth is that since 9/11, we’ve all noticed the hatred persist in the form of more terrorist attacks and mass shootings around the world. Over the last 18 years, we’ve all gotten colder, more suspicious and less trusting. That day marked the end of an era and the start of a much more somber one.

Peter Gentile: 9/11 Anniversary -- Remembering the best of humanity on America's darkest day

Apr 2010
Pittsburgh, PA
I always liked this story.
Wilson Kimeli Naiyomah is originally from the Maasai tribe in Kenya. But on September 11, 2001, he was in New York City when the terrorist attacks took place. Kimeli witnessed firsthand the horrendous tragedy that occurred that day. Several months later, he visited his native tribe in Kenya. While there, he told them the story of the horrible events he had seen on September 11, 2001 – in their remote tribe, they had not heard about these events!