Church = Echo Chamber?

Davocrat

Former Staff
Apr 2007
Is church the original echo chamber? Or, maybe...hast it BECOME our greatest non-Internet echo chamber?

Maybe with the exception of Society of Friends (Quaker) meetings, where members are free to stand up and state their minds independently, and possibly in some Temples (I've had limited experience in both) ideas are still open for discussion. But in most Christian churches, would you say you're expected to fall in line politically?

I know a lot of evangelicals and Church of Christers, who pretty much fall in line with the congregation on everything. And I've seen the same in Unitarian Churches.

Episcopalians used to be a mixed bag, but that's fading.

If you go to church is it an echo chamber? If you know church goers do they seem to engage in group-think, beyond spiritual beliefs?

Mar 2019
In Sunday School with Hognoxious
My church is probably all conservative voters.

Lots of pro 2nd amendment voters

Everyone is pro life

Politics isn't discussed much in church service unless it's a sin issue like abortion, lgbtq, etc

I talk politics with some people at my church before after or in between sunday school and the service

Jun 2014
United States
Is church the original echo chamber? Or, maybe...hast it BECOME our greatest non-Internet echo chamber?

Maybe with the exception of Society of Friends (Quaker) meetings, where members are free to stand up and state their minds independently, and possibly in some Temples (I've had limited experience in both) ideas are still open for discussion. But in most Christian churches, would you say you're expected to fall in line politically?

I know a lot of evangelicals and Church of Christers, who pretty much fall in line with the congregation on everything. And I've seen the same in Unitarian Churches.

Episcopalians used to be a mixed bag, but that's fading.