Escape from Gitmo - on your x-box.

Jun 2006
Vancouver
http://theopinionator.typepad.com/my_weblog/2009/06/former-gitmo-detainee-becomes-xbox-star-1.html

Scottish game developer hires ex Gitmo prisoner as consultant on their "shoot you way out of Gitmo" x-box game. Think about it. You're the detainee and you run around gunning down Americans in an attempt to escape the prison.

It sounds sick, twisted, revolting and.... oh wait. Anyone remember Full Spectrum Warrior, America's Army, Conflict, Ghost Recon or any of the gabillion other games where you can wander around killing towelheads?

You can kill more Germans by owning an x-box for 5 years than actually died in WW2.

They talk about the anticipated negative reaction int he States, but I don't think so. I think North Americans are so de-sensitized the Yanks will just pick up the controller and have a go.

I'm a cop and I own two GTA games - where sometimes you just have to kill the cops cause they just wont leave you alone.

Nov 2007
Prague, Czech Republic
[quote name='Dr.Knuckles' date='24 August 2009 - 06:38 AM' timestamp='1251088681' post='10349']

66 views and no responses. I guess my "I doubt Americans will really care" reaction was correct.

[/quote]

Forget about killing Germans; there are already plenty of World War II games where you can play either side. I'm sure many of us have enjoyed dropping a nuke on the Pentagon whilst commanding the armies of the Brotherhood of Nod or laying waste to New York with a Soviet invasion force.

The games developer's just doing this as a cunning marketing strategy - they know that some people who would never have bought the game anyway will get irate about the idea and complain in public, all of which leads to forum posts like this one bringing the game to the attention of other people who might buy it.

Jan 2007