How do you “Grade” a Teacher?

Dec 2018
Florida
Holding someone accountable for their work is important. If you disagree with this statement, please emphasize that. The issue with teachers is that there is a lot to in to that. As a republican who does not follow lock step with the party? I see that as a BIG motivator behind views of individuals who align on the right.

I’m not a big fan of test on test on test. Especially when it is possible to have awful students year after year. So I have to ask. What do you think is a good measure of the performance of a teacher? Anything objective? What subjective measurements?

Apr 2014
Maryland
I am a teacher and one thing I would look at is how the other students are all doing. For instance I’ve seen parents complain that their child isn’t learning from a certain teacher because he failed every test. But yet the rest of the students did fine. I recall that I once gave a test and most of the kids failed and I told them that it was obviously my fault and not theirs
in my book for teachers, one thing I suggest is that if they are not happy teaching after three years they should look for another profession. I think some teachers think it’s going to be easy and if they can’t control the class they don’t belong in teaching. But I truly have to say that I think parents expectations sometimes are not realistic.

boontito

Future Staff
Jan 2008
Most Insidious
As a parent of two who are at different stages of public education, and as someone who has a sister who has taught at the middle school and high school levels, I've been seriously impressed with most of the teachers I've interacted with.

We've had one "bad" teacher. This was my son's second grade teacher. She had clearly given up and hated her job.