People Are Abusing Their Pets To Get Opioids

HCProf

Sep 2014
USA
This is a very disturbing story. Some veterinarians fear that some people are abusing their pets in order to get opioids:

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/08/180809112420.htm
This is terrible. I spayed my girls at the same time. They are 6 months apart. One of them was fine after surgery..wanted to eat, play, etc. The other one had a hard time. She was shaking and behaving strangely and she had quite a bit of swelling. She is very small and petite. I called the Vet after I picked them up and told them she was experiencing a lot of pain. The Vet gave me a hard time about pain pills for her and started asking me questions. I have a short fuse when it comes to my girls and assured them, that I have my own doctor and I am a nurse, if I wanted pain pills it would be no problem for me so STFU and give me her medication so she can rest comfortably. It pissed me off.

I can very easily seeing addicts doing this tho.

Sep 2016
My own world
This is terrible. I spayed my girls at the same time. They are 6 months apart. One of them was fine after surgery..wanted to eat, play, etc. The other one had a hard time. She was shaking and behaving strangely and she had quite a bit of swelling. She is very small and petite. I called the Vet after I picked them up and told them she was experiencing a lot of pain. The Vet gave me a hard time about pain pills for her and started asking me questions. I have a short fuse when it comes to my girls and assured them, that I have my own doctor and I am a nurse, if I wanted pain pills it would be no problem for me so STFU and give me her medication so she can rest comfortably. It pissed me off.

I can very easily seeing addicts doing this tho.
Unless the dogs are large I can't see an adult getting a buzz off a dogs medication as the dosage is geared to the dogs weight. Taking a petite dogs medication to get high would be useless IMO.

Ian Jeffrey

Council Hall
Mar 2013