The Case for Standardized Testing

Dec 2018
Florida
So this is a touchy subject. Especially because there are a lot of things wrapped up in this debate (from student scores, educator evaluation, unions, funding, and good old fashioned lobbying issues). And me being a conservative who is getting back in to the education field? I find myself in a different position than both sides. I am curious how others feel on the subject.

I agree with the concept of standardized testing. I think it is a wonderful idea. A school should be able to measure students grade scores and evaluate them against other schools. They should also be able to see how a school is doing year to year. But that is where I draw the line. I believe it is not a good tool to measure teacher performance and pay. And the reason? I was a good student. But we all know those who are not. And when a teacher gets a bad class? There is very little to be done. Some classes are just NOT going to cooperate (which shouldn’t be a shock). A teacher’s performance should be evaluated by the administration. But I digress.

That being said? What should be THE standard for testing? It should be the SAT/ACT. Period. Students can start taking these in middle school (or younger). And these are what are required for colleges ANYWAY. And if a student has no intention of GOING to college? Other tests are really a waste of time. They should be preparing for their intentions and given skills to survive life WITHOUT a college degree (which you don’t need to make a living).

Anyway. Would people find reasons to object to using SAT/ACT as the only standardized testing format for students?

Dec 2018
Florida
Are you proposing using the SAT/ACT tests for elementary school students?

I can see at least one problem with that plan.