What's up, McDonalds?

Jun 2011
God Bless Texas
I am not technically hearing impaired, but I do have trouble hearing sometimes when there is 'crossnoise' and I find myself reading lips to augment my hearing.

Usually a drive through speaker is no problem, but sometimes it is and I just go to the window. Never had a problem with that. I would swear it was at McDonalds I saw a sign that said if there are hearing problems to please proceed to the window to order. Guess I was wrong. That was somewhere else.

I pulled up to the window and said sorry to mess up your system, but I couldn't hear and needed to come to the window. The woman was mad. You didn't order? No. I just said, I couldn't hear you and needed to pull up. She said to a co-worker 'she didn't order'. That one acted like OMG.

She proceeded to be very rude. Just stared at me. Finally said do you want to order something? Yeah, I do. (Didn't I just say that?) I wondered how badly it really could 'mess up their system'. It wasn't busy at all.

She was so rude I finally got mad and said what is the problem? She said we are not supposed to take orders at the window. I said there is a sign saying people should pull up if they have hearing problems. She said no, there isn't. I was like ! OK, well I guess that was somewhere else but what are people supposed to do if they can't hear you? She said no one has that problem but you.

Keep in mind, this has not happened before. I hardly ever go there, I have never seen this woman before. 'No one has this problem but you?' Really? REALLY snotty. Like I was known to her as some sort of annoying customer. That was over the top. I do not believe for a second I am the only one with that problem!